Skip to main content

Building Permit Guides (2026)

Project-specific permit guides using actual fee formulas from official .gov fee schedules. Know what is required and what it costs before you start.

About These Guides
  • Each guide covers permit requirements by project type and includes actual fee formulas where available.
  • Fee data is sourced from official .gov fee schedule documents - not generic cost ranges.
  • Virginia coverage is live for Fairfax County. Additional jurisdictions are being added.
  • Use the fee calculator for a quick estimate, then verify directly with your building department before filing.
Live Guides

Virginia, DC & Maryland Permit Cost Guides

Jurisdiction-specific fee guides with verified formulas from official fee schedules.

Frisco, TX Live
Frisco Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $200 below-ground pool permit ($100 above-ground, $275 in-ground with spa). Consolidated Fee Schedule updated 10-7-2025; trades permitted separately.
Frisco, TX Live
Frisco Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 solar installation permit at any array size; the electrical trade permit is separate (about $125 typical wired). Schedule updated 10-7-2025 - confirm current.
Houston, TX Live
Houston Fence Permit Cost (2026)
$73.85 fence permit for the first 100 linear feet + $11.41 each additional 100 LF; the $91.06 minimum permit and $33.56 admin fee apply ($124.62 typical). BCE schedule effective Jan 1, 2026.
Frisco, TX Live
Frisco Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Framed deck $75 + $0.59 per gross sq ft (max $550); a 200 sq ft deck is $193. A concrete-only deck is a flat $75. Consolidated Fee Schedule updated 10-7-2025.
Frisco, TX Live
Frisco Roof Replacement Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $150 re-roof permit at any roof size; structural decking work may reclassify to a $75 + $0.45 per sq ft alterations line (max $550). Schedule updated 10-7-2025.
Frisco, TX Live
Frisco Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Modular (prefab) shed a flat $50; a conventionally framed shed $75 + $0.59 per gross sq ft (max $550), so a 120 sq ft framed shed is $145.80. Schedule updated 10-7-2025.
Grand Prairie, TX Live
Grand Prairie Spa Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $20 spa/hot tub building permit; electrical is a separate $60 single-trade permit (about $80 all-in). In-ground pool a separate $100. UDC Article 22, effective 9-2-2025.
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Patio Cover Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 patio/patio-cover building permit; electrical adds a separate $65 if powered ($125 all-in). Residential Fee Schedule revised February 2022 - confirm current.
Carrollton, TX Live
Carrollton Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $50 stand-alone storage shed permit under Code Chapter 31. The $125 application fee is for project permits, not a shed; wiring adds a separate $75 minimum.
Arlington, TX Live
Arlington Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $25 permit for a portable storage or accessory building 320 sq ft or under. Larger permanent buildings are priced by valuation. Effective Sept 1, 2025.
Grand Prairie, TX Live
Grand Prairie Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Tiered accessory-building permit: $20 up to 100 sq ft, $100 for 100-400 sq ft, and $0.25 per sq ft above 400 sq ft. UDC Article 22, effective Sept 2, 2025.
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Driveway Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 residential driveway permit; a combined walk, driveway, and approach is $75. Same $60 line covers a patio or sidewalk. Schedule revised Feb 2022.
Lubbock, TX Live
Lubbock Driveway Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 residential flatwork permit - driveway, patio, or sidewalk - equal to the citywide $75 minimum fee. Current FY2025-2026 schedule. No per-sq-ft scaling.
Waco, TX Live
Waco Siding Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 siding permit plus a $15 building tech fee - $90 all-in at any wall area. Live schedule, no printed effective date. Structural work may reclassify.
Waco, TX Live
Waco Window & Door Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 Windows/Doors permit plus a $15 tech fee - $90 all-in for any number of openings, not priced per window. No Texas levy.
Carrollton, TX Live
Carrollton Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $50 standalone specific permit at any wall length. The $125 application fee applies to project permits, not a standalone wall. Codified schedule.
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Spa & Hot Tub Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 building permit at any spa size; electrical is a separate $65 permit ($125 typical wired). Schedule revised February 2022 - verify current.
Grand Prairie, TX Live
Grand Prairie Roof Repair Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $50 residential roof repair permit at any roof size. Effective Sept 2, 2025. A full structural replacement may reclassify to $0.25/SF.
Corpus Christi, TX Live
Corpus Christi Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $33.10 roofing/siding permit, $34.59 with the 4.5% surcharge. FY2026 schedule (effective Oct 1, 2025). Structural repair may reclassify.
Lubbock, TX Live
Lubbock Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 residential fence permit at any length, equal to the $75 minimum permit fee. FY2026 Building Safety Fee Schedule. No Texas levy.
Lubbock, TX Live
Lubbock Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 replacement (re-roof) roof permit at any size. FY2026 Building Safety Fee Schedule. Structural repair may move to the alteration line.
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 residential fence permit at any length. Retaining wall a separate $60 line. Residential Fee Schedule revised Feb 2022 (verify currency).
Carrollton, TX Live
Carrollton Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $50 standalone residential fence permit at any length. The $125 application fee applies to project permits, not a standalone fence. Ch. 31 (codified through Dec 2025).
Tyler, TX Live
Tyler Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 residential roof replacement permit at any size. Codified Schedule of Permit Fees (Sec. 6-3). Structural repair may move to the alteration line.
Tyler, TX Live
Tyler Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 residential solar panel permit at any system size, plus a separate electrical permit. Codified Schedule of Permit Fees (Sec. 6-3).
Irving, TX Live
Irving Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $65 building single-trade permit for a deck over 30 inches above grade. Electrical is a separate $65 permit. Schedule of Fees (Feb 2026 Amendments).
Richardson, TX Live
Richardson Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $200 residential swimming pool permit; spa/above-ground $100. Building Permit Fee Schedule dated Oct 2015 - verify currency before budgeting.
El Paso, TX Live
El Paso Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $110 residential fence building permit at any length, plus a city technology fee (rate not printed). FY2026 Schedule C. Electric fence $152.
Arlington, TX Live
Arlington Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $25 residential fence permit at any length or height; pool barrier fence also $25. City fee schedule effective Sept 1, 2025. Among the lowest verified in TX.
Arlington, TX Live
Arlington Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $275 solar panel permit at any system size, plus a separate $100 electrical permit ($375 common total). City fee schedule effective Sept 1, 2025.
Arlington, TX Live
Arlington Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $225 deck / patio cover / screened porch / gazebo permit at any size. City fee schedule effective Sept 1, 2025. Enclosed additions follow Table 2.
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $65 re-roof permit at any roof size. Residential Fee Schedule revised Feb 2022 (over 4 years old - confirm current). Structural work follows $0.25/SF.
Irving, TX Live
Irving Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 re-roof permit for a single-family, townhouse, or duplex at any size. Freshest verified TX schedule (effective Feb 13, 2026). Multi-family $150.
Longview, TX Live
Longview Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $305 in-ground / $105 above-ground swimming pool building permit. Pool electrical and barrier are separate. FY2025-2026 schedule (no printed effective date).
Longview, TX Live
Longview Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $105 re-roof permit at any roof size - no per-square or valuation calculation. Structural changes may reclassify. FY2025-2026 schedule.
Temple, TX Live
Temple Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $110 in-ground / $35 above-ground pool or spa permit, charged separately from a new home. Among the lowest verified in Texas. Exhibit A schedule.
Temple, TX Live
Temple Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $35 residential roof permit at any roof size - among the lowest verified in Texas. Structural changes may reclassify. Exhibit A schedule.
Abilene, TX Live
Abilene Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $180 in-ground / $75 above-ground swimming pool building permit. Pool electrical (a separate trade permit) and barrier are extra. Live fee schedule.
Abilene, TX Live
Abilene Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Residential roofing is free under 5 squares and a flat $100 for 5 squares and above - staying $100 at any larger roof size. Live fee schedule.
McAllen, TX Live
McAllen Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $55.86 swimming pool building permit - among the lowest verified in Texas. Pool electrical is a separate trade permit. Schedule dated 2016 (verify current).
Pearland, TX Live
Pearland Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $350 swimming pool building permit - among the highest verified in Texas. Pool electrical and plumbing are separate $120 trade permits. Live schedule.
Arlington, TX Live
Arlington Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $275 in-ground swimming pool permit (spa included); above-ground $125. Electrical/mechanical/plumbing are separate $100 trade permits. Effective Sept 1, 2025.
Arlington, TX Live
Arlington Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $275 reroof permit at any roof size - among the highest verified flat reroof fees in Texas. Structural work may be reclassified. Effective Sept 1, 2025.
Irving, TX Live
Irving Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $240 in-ground pool permit that includes pool-equipment electrical, gas, and the sewer trap; above-ground $140. Effective Feb 13, 2026.
El Paso, TX Live
El Paso Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $160 swimming pool/spa building permit, plus a city Technology Fee (rate not printed). Pool electrical may be separate. FY2026 schedule, Sept 1, 2025.
Waco, TX Live
Waco Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $125 pool building permit + $60 pool plan review + $15 tech = $200 all-in. Pool electrical is a separate trade permit. Live schedule, no printed date.
Waco, TX Live
Waco Roof Replacement Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $125 roofing permit + $15 tech = $140 all-in, at any roof size. Structural framing work can move it to the $200 line. Live schedule, no printed date.
Carrollton, TX Live
Carrollton Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $200 pool or spa permit at any size. The code lists it as a project permit that includes plumbing, electrical and mechanical. Codified schedule (current through Dec 2, 2025).
Carrollton, TX Live
Carrollton Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $125 solar panel permit at any system size. A separate electrical permit ($75 min) may apply for interconnection, so a realistic all-in is near $200. Codified schedule.
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $200 in-ground pool permit and $60 above-ground, each at any size. Pool electrical is a separate $65 permit. Residential Fee Schedule revised Feb 2022 (verify currency).
Mesquite, TX Live
Mesquite Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 deck permit at any size; a patio cover is also $60. Deck wiring is a separate $65 electrical permit. Residential Fee Schedule revised Feb 2022 (verify currency).
Richardson, TX Live
Richardson Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $30 residential fence permit at any length. Building Permit Fee Schedule effective Oct 1, 2015 (over ten years old - verify currency before filing).
Grand Prairie, TX Live
Grand Prairie Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 residential swimming pool permit at any size. Pool electrical is a separate $60 single-trade permit. Effective Sept 2, 2025.
Grand Prairie, TX Live
Grand Prairie Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $25 residential fence permit at any length, height, or material. Screening/commercial fences use a 1%-of-value basis. Effective Sept 2, 2025.
Lubbock, TX Live
Lubbock Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 solar/alternative energy electrical permit at any system size (= the $75 minimum). Structural mounting may need a separate permit. FY2025-2026 schedule.
Tyler, TX Live
Tyler Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $150 residential swimming pool building permit at any pool size. Pool electrical is a separate code-article permit. Effective Sept 11, 2024.
Longview, TX Live
Longview Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $55 residential fence permit at any length, height, or material. A retaining wall is a separate $100 permit. FY2025-2026 schedule (no printed date).
Temple, TX Live
Temple Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $35 residential fence permit at any length or material - among the lowest verified in Texas. Billed separately from a new home. Exhibit A schedule.
Temple, TX Live
Temple Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $35 solar panel permit at any system size - dramatically lower than most Texas cities ($300+). A separate electrical permit may apply. Exhibit A schedule.
Abilene, TX Live
Abilene Water Heater Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 standalone water heater trade permit for an electric or gas tank replacement. A gas unit may add a separate gas-line permit. Live fee schedule.
Hampton, VA Live
Hampton Deck Permit Cost (2026)
0.39% of construction value, $50 minimum. A $15,000 deck is $69.67 all-in. Official schedule revised August 2025.
Newport News, VA Live
Newport News Deck Permit Cost (2026)
0.44% of construction value, $56.10 minimum. A $15,000 deck is $67.32 all-in. City Code Section 13-26.
Roanoke City, VA Live
Roanoke City Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Value-based: $45 + $5 per $1,000. A $15,000 deck is $115 (building permit), plus a 2% state levy. Plan review 10% only if plans required.
Roanoke County, VA Live
Roanoke County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Value-based: $40 + $6 per $1,000 over $5,000. A $15,000 deck is $107.00 all-in with the 5% technology fee and 2% levy.
Spotsylvania County, VA Live
Spotsylvania County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $160 deck permit, with or without electric, at any project value. $205-$240 with processing. Schedule effective July 1, 2025.
Manassas City, VA Live
Manassas City Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Decks bill under the all-inclusive R-5 rate of $0.45/SF ($100 minimum). A 300 SF deck is $135, with electrical bundled and no separate plan-review fee. Schedule effective July 1, 2025.
Fauquier County, VA Live
Fauquier County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Decks bill under the $0.16/SF accessory line ($100 minimum), so most decks are about $112 after the 10% tech surcharge and 2% state levy. Schedule effective July 1, 2025.
Harford County, MD Live
Harford County Shed Permit Cost (2026)
$20 flat at 200 sq ft and under (no inspection); $0.15/sq ft + $100 application fee above. Official DILP schedule.
Chesapeake, VA Live
Chesapeake Pool Permit Cost (2026)
In-ground pool $275 all-in; above-ground $198.50. Itemized flat fee. Official schedule revised Dec 31, 2025.
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $194.67 for decks 500 sq ft or under; $0.767865/sq ft above. No Maryland state levy. FY2022 DPS schedule.
Carroll County, MD Live
Carroll County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 at any size (category B). No Maryland state levy. Deck electrical is a separate permit. 2021 fee schedule.
Carroll County, MD Live
Carroll County Finished Basement Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $85 at any value (category C). No Maryland state levy. Electrical and plumbing are separate permits. 2021 fee schedule.
Carroll County, MD Live
Carroll County Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $120 in-ground · $60 above-ground (category D). No Maryland state levy. Pool electrical is a separate permit. 2021 fee schedule.
Harford County, MD Live
Harford County Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $175 residential · $275 commercial. No Maryland state levy or technology fee. Current DILP schedule, effective 2025.
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $156.82 residential demolition. No Maryland state levy or technology fee. DPS schedule (FY2022 printed date - verify current).
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Shed Permit Cost (2026)
$118.96 flat up to 200 sq ft, then $0.767865/sq ft. No Maryland state levy. DPS schedule (FY2022 printed date - verify current).
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Finished Basement Permit Cost (2026)
Alteration rate $0.681345/sq ft + 50% filing fee (min $286.60). ~$1,022 for 1,000 sq ft. DPS schedule (FY2022 - verify current).
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $194.67 at any length or height. No Maryland state levy. DPS schedule (FY2022 printed date - verify current).
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$0.767865/sq ft + filing fee (50% or $286.60). ~$593.75 for a 400 sq ft addition. DPS schedule (FY2022 - verify current).
Austin, TX Live
Austin Roof Replacement Permit Cost (2026)
$370.00 residential roof replacement inspection for a like-for-like reroof. No Texas state levy. FY2025-26 DSD schedule (eff Oct 1, 2025).
Dallas, TX Live
Dallas Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$1.07/sq ft up to 700 sq ft (Table A-I); ~$428 for a 400 sq ft addition, plus a $577 plan-review floor. No Texas levy. Schedule eff May 1, 2024.
Plano, TX Live
Plano Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $300 in-ground pool ($290 + $10 Day Laborer Fee); $55 above-ground, $150 in-ground spa. No Texas levy. Ordinance 2025-11-4.
Round Rock, TX Live
Round Rock Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $125 uncovered, $200 covered, $300 covered with electrical or plumbing - the same at any deck size. Plan review bundled. No Texas levy.
Killeen, TX Live
Killeen Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $70 uncovered deck fee + $10 tech fee = $80 all-in at any size or value. Covered decks are a department classification call. FY2026 schedule.
College Station, TX Live
College Station Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Valuation-based: $40 first $1,000 + $6.70 per $1,000 to $50k - a $40,000 pool is $301.30. Trade permits separate. FY26 schedule eff Oct 1, 2025.
Georgetown, TX Live
Georgetown Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$60 application + $0.50 per sq ft + $10 tech - about $170 for a 200 sq ft deck. Scales with size; added trade permits $60 each. Oct 2023 schedule.
Denton, TX Live
Denton Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $357 in-ground pool / $50 spa or above-ground pool. Pool electrical is a separate MEP permit; safety barrier required. Effective May 2025.
San Marcos, TX Live
San Marcos Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$0.53 per sq ft + $15 tech fee - $121 for a 200 sq ft deck. Scales with size; deck electrical is a separate $78 trade permit. Schedule eff Oct 1, 2025.
Baytown, TX Live
Baytown Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $620 swimming pool permit that includes the mechanical, electrical, and plumbing fees. Barrier fence, if separate, is $67. Schedule dated June 1, 2026.
Laredo, TX Live
Laredo Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Block fence permit is $46 plus a $30 plan check - $76 all-in, the same at any length. Other fence materials not itemized. Codified schedule (Ch. 7 § 109.2).
Laredo, TX Live
Laredo Roof Replacement Permit Cost (2026)
Re-roof permit is $50 plus a $34 plan check - $84 all-in, the same at any roof size. Flat line, among the lowest verified in Texas. Codified schedule (Ch. 7 § 109.2).
Laredo, TX Live
Laredo Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $64 swimming pool building permit - among the lowest verified in Texas. Pool plan-check, electrical, and barrier are separate. Codified schedule (Ch. 7 § 109.2).
Pasadena, TX Live
Pasadena Roof Replacement Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $40 per structure for overlay/like-material re-roof, application fee included. Schedule also prints a $50 general minimum - interaction not stated. Codified schedule, no printed effective date.
Pasadena, TX Live
Pasadena Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $40 residential fence permit, application fee included - not priced per linear foot or by height. Schedule also prints a $50 general minimum. Codified schedule, no printed effective date.
Beaumont, TX Live
Beaumont Pool Permit Cost (2026)
In-ground pool $225 plus a pool-specific $50 plan review, or $275 on the building side. Above-ground is $25. MEP trades explicitly excluded. Schedule effective October 1, 2024.
League City, TX Live
League City Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $600 swimming pool permit - the highest verified pool permit of any Texas city on PermitPrice. Trades separate at $59 base each. Schedule dated March 1, 2024.
League City, TX Live
League City Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Named flat $300 solar panels line - the same at 4 kW or 14 kW. Electrical is a separate $59 base permit plus $10 per circuit. Schedule dated March 1, 2024.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Pool Permit Cost (2026)
$242 all-in for an in-ground pool: $200 flat plus a $35 inspection and a 3% technology fee, rounded down. Above-ground is $139. Appendix D last amended October 2023.
Conroe, TX Live
Conroe Water Heater Permit Cost (2026)
A named flat $75 water heater replacement line with inspection included, from an ordinance adopted November 2025. Skipping the permit risks a $2,000 investigation fee.
Beaumont, TX Live
Beaumont Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $40 residential fence line. The schedule also prints a $55 minimum permit fee and a $10 usage fee it leaves unresolved. Texas has no state levy. Schedule effective October 1, 2024.
Beaumont, TX Live
Beaumont Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Roofing is $0.10 per square foot - about $200 for a 2,000 sq ft roof - with a $55 minimum on small jobs. MEP trades excluded. Schedule effective October 1, 2024.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $50 fence line; about $87 all-in with the $35 inspection and 3% technology fee, rounded down. Appendix D last amended October 2023 - verify current.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $75 roofing line; about $113 all-in with the $35 inspection and 3% technology fee, rounded down. Appendix D last amended October 2023 - verify current.
Conroe, TX Live
Conroe Solar Permit Cost (2026)
A flat $300 solar panel electrical permit with inspection included, from an ordinance effective November 13, 2025. Texas has no state levy.
Conroe, TX Live
Conroe Generator Permit Cost (2026)
A $300 generator electric permit, inspection included; a gas-fueled unit adds a $100 gas line for $400 combined. Ordinance effective November 13, 2025.
Conroe, TX Live
Conroe HVAC Permit Cost (2026)
A residential HVAC change-out is $100 - a $75 mechanical base plus a $25 change-out fee, inspection included. Ordinance effective November 13, 2025.
League City, TX Live
League City Deck Permit Cost (2026)
A flat $100 deck line, the same at any deck size; a covered deck or patio cover may be $0.75/sq ft instead. Schedule dated March 1, 2024.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Shed Permit Cost (2026)
A $75 built-on-site shed line ($50 pre-built) - about $113 all-in with the $35 inspection and 3% technology fee. Fees date to October 9, 2023.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Driveway Permit Cost (2026)
Flatwork - driveway, patio, sidewalk, deck - at $0.25/sq ft; a 600 sq ft driveway is a $150 line, about $190 all-in. Fees date to October 9, 2023.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Retaining walls over 24 inches are $0.50 per linear foot; a 40-foot wall is a $20 line, about $56 all-in with the $35 inspection and 3% technology fee. Fees date to October 9, 2023.
New Braunfels, TX Live
New Braunfels Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
Residential demolition is a flat $100 - about $103 with the 3% technology fee, or ~$139 all-in if an inspection is billed. Fees date to October 9, 2023.
League City, TX Live
League City Generator Permit Cost (2026)
A generator is a flat $300 building permit; a whole-home gas standby runs about $418 with the separate $59 electrical and $59 gas permits. Schedule dated March 1, 2024.
Conroe, TX Live
Conroe Irrigation Permit Cost (2026)
A new residential irrigation system is a flat $115, inspection included; repairs are $75. A separate $75 backflow line may apply. Ordinance effective November 13, 2025.
Brownsville, TX Live
Brownsville Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $200 residential swimming pool permit under Code Sec. 18-123(c). A $50 residential plan check exists but the ordinance does not state it applies to pools. Fee section last amended 2019.
Brownsville, TX Live
Brownsville Roof Replacement Permit Cost (2026)
Re-roof permit tiered by roof area: $50 (1-500 SF), $70 (501-2,000 SF), $150 (over 2,000 SF) under Sec. 18-123(c). Plan-check applicability not stated. Fee section last amended 2019.
Frederick County, MD Live
Frederick County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$157 all-in up to 500 sq ft ($113 permit + $33 filing + $11 automation); $188 over 500 sq ft. Flat by size, not value. Effective July 1, 2026.
Howard County, MD Live
Howard County Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$0.25/sq ft + $50 filing + 10% technology fee. ~$160 for a 400 sq ft addition. Current FY26 DILP schedule (eff July 1, 2025).
Howard County, MD Live
Howard County Finished Basement Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 alteration + $25 filing + 10% technology fee. ~$135 typical. No per-sq-ft charge. Current FY26 DILP schedule.
Baltimore County, MD Live
Baltimore County Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $79 at any system size. No Maryland state levy. Electrical interconnection separate. PAI schedule (2018 printed date - verify current).
Baltimore County, MD Live
Baltimore County Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$85 up to 600 sq ft, $119 over. No Maryland state levy. Deck electrical separate. PAI schedule (2018 printed date - verify current).
Carroll County, MD Live
Carroll County Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $60 (category F) at any system size. No Maryland state levy. Electrical interconnection separate. 2021 schedule - verify current.
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $313.64 in-ground (fence included) · $232.52 above-ground. No Maryland state levy. FY2022 DPS schedule.
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $77.87 fence permit. No Maryland state levy. Height and zoning limits set by county code. FY2022 DPS schedule.
Harford County, MD Live
Harford County Pool Permit Cost (2026)
In-ground $200 + $0.10/ft fence (about $215) · above-ground or hot tub $160. No Maryland state levy. Official DILP schedule.
Spotsylvania County, VA Live
Spotsylvania County Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $430 in-ground · $150 above-ground or hot tub · $240 above-ground with deck, plus an $80 or $45 processing fee. Schedule effective July 1, 2025.
Harford County, MD Live
Harford County Fence Permit Cost (2026)
$20 for a fence up to 250 ft, plus $0.10/ft over 250. No Maryland state levy, no tech fee. Official DILP schedule.
Montgomery County, MD Live
Montgomery County Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $227.12 rooftop solar building permit. No Maryland state levy. Electrical interconnection separate. FY2022 DPS schedule.
Virginia Live
Virginia Permit Cost Guide
How permit fees work in Virginia
Fairfax: $688.50 for $15K deck
Virginia Live
Virginia Permit Cost Guide
How permit fees work in Virginia
Fairfax: $688.50 for $15K deck
Virginia Live
Deck Permit Cost in Virginia
Fairfax: $688.50 · Loudoun: ~$402.90
$15,000 deck · 2 jurisdictions
Virginia Live
Pool Permit Cost in Virginia (2026)
Fairfax $413.10 all-in · Chesterfield $108.14 · Henrico $255 for a $30k pool. Flat fee vs value-based formulas compared.
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Pool Permit Cost (2026)
In-ground $192.50 all-in · Above-ground $116 · Pool barrier $116 separate. Flat-fee schedule with electrical and plumbing trade permits explained.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Pool Permit Cost (2026)
In-ground $413.10 all-in · Flat $270 + 50% plan review + 2% levy. Pool barrier filed as alteration; trade permits priced separately.
Richmond City Live
Richmond Pool Permit Cost (2026)
$30k pool ~ $237.62 all-in · $63 base + $6.07/$1,000 over $2,000 + 2% state levy. Same value formula for all residential work.
Richmond City Live
Richmond Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$15k deck ~ $144.75 all-in · Value-based formula, no separate plan review, no fee cap. Source-age caveat: June 2022 schedule.
Chesterfield County Live
Chesterfield Shed Permit Cost (2026)
257-400 sq ft = $114 + $50 env eng + 2% levy ~ $166.28 all-in · Sheds 256 sq ft and under: no permit required.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Pool Permit Cost (2026)
$30k pool = $255 all-in · $100 + $6/$1k over $5k formula, capped at $680. Verified December 2025 schedule.
Chesterfield County Live
Chesterfield Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$166.28 all-in flat · $114 building permit + $50 env eng site inspection + 2% levy on $114. Same fee at any deck value.
Virginia Beach City Live
Virginia Beach Deck Permit Cost (2026)
400 sq ft uncovered deck = $102.32 all-in · $50 + $4/100 sq ft + $25 counter plan review + $10 tech + 2% levy. Cheapest in VA cluster.
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Deck Permit Cost (2026)
200 sq ft uncovered deck = $152.00 all-in · 3-tier flat schedule ($50/$100/$125 by area) + $35 plan review + $15 processing + 2% levy. July 2021 source.
Washington DC Live
Washington DC Pool Permit Cost (2026)
Pool up to 15,000 gal = $286.00 all-in · $260 base + 10% Enhanced Fee. Larger pools add $33 per 1,000 gal. Live DOB rate, plumbing and electrical trades separate.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Sheds 256 sq ft and under exempt · 260 sq ft with electrical = $550.80 all-in · 3% of value + 50% PR + 2% levy. Trade permits filed separately.
Loudoun County Live
Loudoun Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Any deck under 1,000 sq ft = $402.90 all-in · bundled $395 flat (building + plan review + zoning) + 2% levy. Same fee regardless of size or value. July 2022 schedule.
Prince William County Live
Prince William Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Deck 250 sq ft or under = $107.24 all-in · deck over 250 sq ft = $266.31 all-in. Surcharge stack baked into printed totals. FY26 schedule, effective July 1, 2025.
Alexandria Live
Alexandria Deck Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 base for any deck · about $132 all-in with the city's ~30% surcharge stack (estimated). FY26 Permit Center schedule, effective July 1, 2025.
Loudoun County Live
Loudoun Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Any shed under 1,000 sq ft = $402.90 all-in · bundled $395 flat + 2% levy. Same fee regardless of size or value. July 2022 schedule, source-age caveat applies.
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Shed Permit Cost (2026)
320 sq ft shed = $101.00 all-in · $0.15/sq ft (min $50) + $35 plan review + $15 processing + 2% levy. Cheapest verified VA jurisdiction for small sheds. July 2021 source.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Shed Permit Cost (2026)
320 sq ft at $8k = $120.36 all-in · $100 base + $6/$1,000 over $5,000, capped $680 + 2% levy. Value-based formula; cap activates at $116,667. Verified Dec 2025.
Washington, DC Live
DC Shed Permit Cost (2026)
Any new shed = $71.50 all-in · flat $65 Section a + 10% DOB Enhanced. Size-independent, value-independent. Cheapest DMV jurisdiction. Verified live April 2026.
Loudoun County Live
Loudoun Addition Permit Cost (2026)
Any addition under 1,000 sq ft = $402.90 all-in · bundled $395 + 2% levy. Over 1,000 sq ft: 1% of value + $335 PR + 2% levy. July 2022 schedule, source-age caveat applies.
Washington DC Live
DC Addition Permit Cost (2026)
Priced as new construction: $0.03/cubic foot + $0.002/sq ft GBF + 10% Enhanced. 500 sq ft sunroom $133.10. 800 sq ft addition $212.96. Volume-based, not value-based.
Washington DC Live
DC Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
4-tier formula. Tier 3: $30 + 2% value + 10% Enhanced + 0.13% Green Building Fee. $30k kitchen $735.90. $50k whole-home $1,204.50. Bundled plan review.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
3% of value + 50% plan review + 2% state levy = ~4.59% effective rate, uncapped. $15k bathroom $688.50. $30k kitchen $1,377. $50k whole-home $2,295. Min $110.16.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
$100 base + $6/$1k over $5k, capped $680 + 2% levy. $30k kitchen $255. High-value alterations capped at $693.60 all-in. Cheapest verified DMV jurisdiction for luxury renovations.
Virginia Statewide Live
Virginia Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
9x cost spread across 6 verified VA jurisdictions. $30k kitchen: Norfolk $152, Henrico $255, Loudoun $402.90, Fairfax $1,377. Pricing-method comparison + worked examples.
Richmond City Live
Richmond Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
$63 + $6.07/$1k over $2k + 2% levy. $15k bathroom $144.75. $30k kitchen $237.62. $100k gut $671.02. Uncapped 0.607% slope. June 2022 schedule.
Virginia Beach Live
Virginia Beach Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
$50 + $5/$1k + $100 PR + $10 tech + 2% on BP. $15k bathroom $237.50. $30k kitchen $314. $100k gut $671. July 2025 schedule (most current).
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $100 BP + $35 PR + $15 + 2% on BP = $152 all-in regardless of value. Cheapest verified DMV at any value over $9.5k. Re-roof/siding need no permit.
Loudoun County Live
Loudoun Alteration Permit Cost (2026)
Bundled $395 (BP+PR+zoning) + 2% levy = $402.90 all-in under 1,000 sq ft. Over 1,000 sq ft: 1% formula + $335 PR. Bundled structure unique in DMV.
Virginia (statewide) Live
Virginia Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
Cross-jurisdiction guide. $66 (Norfolk flat) to $2,295 (Fairfax 3% formula) for $50k demolition. 4 verified VA jurisdictions plus DC compared.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
3% of declared value + 50% plan review + 2% levy. $8k garage $367.20 (Appendix Q example). $15k house $688.50. $50k full home $2,295. Uncapped.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
$100 base + $6/$1k over $5k, capped $680, + 2% levy. $5k $102; $15k $163.20; $50k $377.40. Cap activates at $101,667 declared. $693.60 ceiling.
Richmond City Live
Richmond Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $184 + 2% levy = $187.68 all-in regardless of declared value. Separate from Richmond's value-based formula. June 2022 schedule.
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Demolition Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $50 BP + $15 processing + 2% on $50 = $66 all-in. Cheapest verified VA demolition jurisdiction at any declared value. July 2021 schedule.
Virginia (statewide) Live
Virginia Garage Permit Cost (2026)
Detached garage fees by jurisdiction: Fairfax from $110.16 (per sq ft), Henrico $163.20-$438.60 (by value), Chesterfield flat $340.70, DC $71.50.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Garage Permit Cost (2026)
Per-sq-ft new construction ($0.143/sq ft wood frame, $72 min) + 50% PR + 2% levy. Most detached garages hit the $110.16 floor; 720 sq ft $157.53.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Garage Permit Cost (2026)
$100 + $6/$1k over $5k, capped $680, + 2% levy. $15k $163.20; $25k $224.40; $60k $438.60. Cap activates at $101,667 declared. $693.60 ceiling.
Chesterfield County Live
Chesterfield Garage Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $285 BP + $50 Environmental Engineering + 2% levy = $340.70 all-in, the same at any garage size or declared value. FY2025-2026 schedule.
Washington, DC Live
DC Garage Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $65 + 10% DOB Enhanced = $71.50 all-in for a standard detached garage. Cheapest DMV jurisdiction. Large garages may reclassify to $0.03/cu ft.
Virginia (statewide) Live
Virginia Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Re-roof permit costs by jurisdiction for a $15,000 job: Fairfax $688.50, DC $384.45, Virginia Beach $237.50, Richmond $144.75. Norfolk requires no permit ($0).
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Full re-roof billed at 3% of value + 50% plan review + 2% levy. A $15,000 re-roof is $688.50 all-in; the floor is $110.16. Repair under 25% may be exempt.
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Norfolk requires no permit for a residential re-roof ($0) - the rare VA exception. Structural roof framing files as a $152 alteration; commercial re-roof $150.
Washington, DC Live
DC Roof Permit Cost (2026)
Re-roof follows the alteration tier formula: $30 + 2% of value + 10% Enhanced Fee + 0.13% Green Building Fee. A $15,000 re-roof totals $384.45 all-in.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Most residential fences need no permit ($0, under 7 feet). Over 7 feet, in a floodplain, or in a historic district: 3% of value, with a $110.16 floor.
Washington, DC Live
DC Fence Permit Cost (2026)
Every private-property fence needs a permit in DC, but the fee is a flat $33 + 10% Enhanced = $36.30 - regardless of fence size, height, or material.
Virginia (statewide) Live
Virginia Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Retaining wall fees by jurisdiction for a $10,000 wall: Chesterfield flat $116.28, Fairfax $459 (3% of value), DC $506 ($46 per $1,000 of cost).
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Walls over 4 feet need a permit: 3% of value + 50% plan review + 2% levy. A $6,500 wall is $298.35 all-in; the floor is $110.16.
Chesterfield County Live
Chesterfield Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $114 building permit + 2% levy = $116.28 all-in for any retaining wall, whatever its value. A $50 site-inspection fee may apply.
Washington, DC Live
DC Retaining Wall Permit Cost (2026)
Billed at $46 per $1,000 of construction cost + 10% Enhanced Fee. A $10,000 wall totals $506 all-in. No Green Building Fee on this line.
Virginia (statewide) Live
Virginia Solar Permit Cost (2026)
No statewide waiver - solar permit fees are set locally. Fairfax waives the building permit ($0); the required electrical permit runs about $385.56.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Building permit waived ($0), but the required electrical permit is not: $378 + 2% levy = $385.56 all-in for a typical 8 kW system on a 200-amp service.
Washington, DC Live
DC Solar Permit Cost (2026)
Flat $36.30 Instant Permit ($33 + 10% DOB Enhanced Fee) for residential PV systems up to 15 kW. Larger systems file a standard permit.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Electrical Panel Permit Cost (2026)
Priced by service amperage, not cost: $378 for a standard 200-amp service + 2% levy = $385.56 all-in. Tiers run $341 to $633, $135 minimum.
Washington, DC Live
DC Electrical Panel Permit Cost (2026)
A qualifying residential heavy-up is a flat $64.90 Instant Permit ($59 + 10% Enhanced). Standard service permits start at $42.90, $22 minimum.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Water Heater Permit Cost (2026)
Plumbing permit by fixture count: a single water heater is the 1-5 fixture tier at $340 + 2% levy = $346.80 all-in. Verified Appendix Q FY2025.
Washington, DC Live
DC Water Heater Permit Cost (2026)
A single plumbing fixture at $26 + 10% DOB Enhanced Fee = $28.60. Instant Permit eligible; no state levy. Verified dob.dc.gov.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax HVAC Permit Cost (2026)
Mechanical permit by zone count: a single-zone system is $135 + 2% levy = $137.70 all-in. Tiers run to $660 for 5+ zones. Verified Appendix Q FY2025.
Washington, DC Live
DC HVAC Permit Cost (2026)
Priced by equipment class: a residential AC or heat pump is Class E at $50.60 (up to 10 tons), Instant Permit eligible. No state levy. Verified dob.dc.gov.
Fairfax County Live
Fairfax Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$50,000 addition = $2,295.00 all-in · 3% of value + 50% plan review + 2% state levy. $110.16 minimum permit fee. Verified FY2025 Appendix Q.
Virginia (statewide) Live
Virginia Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$50k addition = $196.70 (VA Beach) up to $2,295 (Fairfax) · six verified jurisdictions, formulas, worked examples, 2% state levy.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$50k addition = $377.40 all-in · $100 base + $6/$1k over $5k, capped at $680. Plan review bundled. $693.60 cap at $101,667 declared.
Chesterfield County Live
Chesterfield Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$456.98 all-in flat for any addition · $399 building permit + $50 site fee + 2% levy. Same fee at $5k or $250k. Verified FY2025-2026.
Virginia Beach City Live
Virginia Beach Pool Permit Cost (2026)
$30k in-ground pool = $314.00 all-in · $50 + $5/$1k of value + $100 plan review + $10 tech + 2% levy. Barrier and electrical separate.
Richmond City Live
Richmond Addition Permit Cost (2026)
$50k addition = $361.45 all-in · $63 base + $6.07/$1k over $2k + 2% levy. No cap. June 2022 schedule verified.
Norfolk City Live
Norfolk Addition Permit Cost (2026)
500 sq ft addition = $126.50 all-in · $0.15/sq ft + $35 plan review + $15 processing + 2% levy. July 2021 schedule.
Virginia Beach City Live
Virginia Beach Addition Permit Cost (2026)
500 sq ft heated addition = $121.70 all-in · $50 + $7/100 sq ft + $25 counter PR + $10 tech + 2% levy. Rev. Jul-2025.
Henrico County Live
Henrico Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$15k deck = $163.20 all-in · $100 + $6/$1k over $5k formula, capped at $680. Plan review bundled. Verified December 2025 schedule.
Chesterfield County Live
Chesterfield Pool Permit Cost (2026)
$108.14 flat any pool value · $57 building permit + $1.14 levy + $50 env eng. Cheapest verified VA jurisdiction for pools.
Washington DC Live
Washington DC Deck Permit Cost (2026)
$5k=$150.15 · $15k=$384.45 · $25k=$618.75 · $50k=$1,204.50. Alteration tier formula + 10% Enhanced Fee + Green Building Fee scaling examples.
Virginia Live
Shed Permit Cost in Virginia
No permit under 256 sq ft · $102-$291 if required
3 jurisdictions verified

Project-Type Guides

Permit requirement guides by residential project type. Each guide will cover what triggers a permit, what exemptions apply, and how the fee is calculated across multiple Virginia jurisdictions.

Project Type Permit Required? Fairfax County Fee Guide Status
Deck / Patio Cover Yes - attached decks over 200 sqft; all decks over 30 inches off grade 3% of cost · min $72 Live →
Swimming Pool (In-Ground) Yes - all in-ground pools require a building permit $108-$413 · varies by county Live →
Roof Replacement Typically not required for like-for-like replacement in most VA jurisdictions Verify with LDS Guide in progress
Room Addition Yes - all additions require a building permit 3% of cost · min $72 Guide in progress
Basement Finish Yes - finished basement space requires a building permit 3% of cost · min $72 Guide in progress
Fence Conditional - required if over 7 ft or in certain overlay districts 3% of cost · conditional Guide in progress
Shed / Accessory Structure Conditional - required over a certain floor area (256 sq ft in Chesterfield; verify in other jurisdictions) $102-$291 · varies by county Live →
Solar Panels Yes - building permit required but building fee waived in Virginia $0 building · ~$378 electrical Guide in progress
Kitchen Remodel Yes if structural changes or new electrical/plumbing circuits added 3% of cost · min $72 Guide in progress
ADU (Accessory Dwelling Unit) Yes - new ADU construction requires building and trade permits $0.143/sqft wood frame Guide in progress

Permit requirement thresholds above reflect Fairfax County rules. Other Virginia jurisdictions may have different thresholds. Always verify with your local building department before starting any project.

Always verify permit requirements and current fees with your local building department before starting any project. Permit thresholds, exemptions, and fee schedules change regularly. Contact your county or city Land Development Services or Building Inspections office for current requirements. Primary official fee schedules: Fairfax County Appendix Q (FY2025) and DC DOB fee schedule.
Disclaimer: All permit requirement information and fee data on PermitPrice is for informational purposes only. Actual permit requirements and fees are determined by the local building department. Requirements and fees can change without notice. Verify directly with the applicable building department before budgeting, filing, or starting any construction work.

Written by: Munib Ur Rehman

Data verified against official fee schedule documents.